YOU SAID YES!
NOW WHAT? - HERE IS HOW IT WORKS
Getting married in the state of Texas is very easy compared to some other states.
Once you have confirmed your wedding date you can start thinking about when to purchase your marriage license. The marriage license is good for 90 days (calendar days). If you are not married within 90 days of getting your license, it will expire. The cost of the marriage license is approximately $70-$75. Both parties must be present and present a valid photo id, military id or passport to prove your identity and age. There are exceptions to this if one party is incarcerated or deployed for example. The county clerk can give you direction on how to apply for an exemption or waiver.
In Texas, there is a 72 hour waiting period from the date and time you purchase the license.
You will need to provide proof of divorce if you have been married before.
If you are under age 18, you will need to provide proof of parental consent.
You cannot be legally married without a marriage license present. If the Officiant performs the wedding ceremony without a valid marriage license, they have committed a misdemeanor.
Once your ceremony is over and you are officially married, you or I can return the sign and dated marriage license back to the county clerk's office by placing a stamp on the self-addressed envelope (provided by the clerk when you purchased the license) and putting the license in the mail.
The turnaround time to receive your marriage license stamped is approximately 30 days.
Texas does not issue marriage certificates, only marriage licenses.
You may visit any of these 10 locations to obtain a marriage license.
Baytown Office 701 W Baker Rd Baytown 281/422-0253
Chimney Rock Office 6000 Chimney Rock Houston 713/660-7902
Clay Road Office 16715 Clay Rd. Houston 281/859-0685
Clear Lake Office 16603 Buccaneer Houston 281/486-7250
Cypresswood Office 6831 Cypresswood Dr. Houston 281/379-1057
Downtown Office (Central) 201 Caroline, Ste. 330 Houston 713/755-6436
Humble Office 7900 Will Clayton Pkwy Humble 281/540-1173
N. Shepherd Office 7300 N. Shepherd Dr. Houston 713/697-5193
Pasadena Office 101 S. Richey, Ste. D Pasadena 713/274-6230
South Belt Office 10851 Scarsdale Houston 281/464-0115
The office hours are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. at any of the annex offices or the central location. They accept all major credit cards, cash, personal check (local only with valid Texas ID), money order, cashier’s check, company check and traveler’s checks for payment of marriage license.